Companies - Part 2 - Permissions & Settings

Modified on Fri, 2 Oct at 3:00 PM

Permissions and Settings for Companies


For the company reviews feature to become available, a setting needs to be enabled in the administration area (please see below).


Permissions


The companies module utilises the following permissions:


PermissionDescription
Companies:Create CompaniesAllow a user to create companies
Companies:Delete CompaniesAllow a user to delete companies
Companies:Edit CompaniesAllow a user to edit companies
Companies:Enable/DisableAllow a user to enable and disable Companies
Companies:Link To RecordsAllow a user to create links to and from Companies
Companies:Remove LinksAllow a user to remove links attached to Companies
Companies:View CompaniesAllow a user to view companies
Companies:View HistoryAllow a user to view the change history for Companies


In addition, the Desktop:Show Companies Menu Item permission controls whether the Laboratory Management > Companies menu item is shown. It is included in all of the system roles listed below, so it only needs to be considered when setting up custom roles.


Please note, a company cannot be deleted while it is linked to any people, equipment (including equipment for which it is the manufacturer), training courses, training events, reagents or materials, even if the user has the Companies:Delete Companies permission.


These permissions are used in the following system roles:


Global Viewer (excluding admin), Global Viewer (excluding admin and personnel records) and Laboratory Management Viewer include:


  • Companies:View Companies
  • Companies:View History


Global Editor (excluding admin), Global Editor (excluding admin and personnel records) and Laboratory Management Editor include all of the 8 permissions listed above.


Settings


If companies are to be reviewed using iPassport, the feature must be enabled in the administration area. The ‘Enable Company Approvals’ preference is found by navigating to Administration > Settings > System Preferences > Company Review Settings.



When the preference is enabled (ticked), additional fields appear at the bottom of the General tab of company records. These allow scheduling and performing company reviews in addition to providing means of classifying companies by user defined statuses. These fields are shown once a company record has been saved; they do not appear when creating a new company.


Enabling the preference also adds:

  • a Search Company Reviews tab to the companies module
  • Last reviewed start, Last reviewed end and Approval Status filters to the company search
  • Approval Status and Next Review Due columns to the search results and recent companies lists
  • a banner at the top of the General tab of a company record when a company review is due


The field, ‘Number of days before Company review task activates’ determines how many days before a company’s review date should the task be activated and reminder emails be sent out. The default is 30 days. If the calculated activation date has already passed, the task is activated straight away. Company reviews are covered in detail in the article, Company/Supplier Reviews.


Next Step:

The next article covers Creating Company Records


Previous Step:

The previous article covers Companies Introduction

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select at least one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article